67Music, Celtic Music Promotions

3. May 2013

Sail away with Celtica – Pipes Rock! on their new CD Oceans of Fire!
reviewed by Ann Peck McBride
Right away, you are invited on a special voyage, via a poem delivered with Scots panache. If you listen to the words, the adventure will be read more

described to you- a cross between a pirate in search of plunder, and an explorer discovering exotic destinations. Then the first musical selection begins, and it’s a lot like the beginning of the Pirates of the Carribbean ride, when your boat suddenly speeds up and sails down a steep, narrow tunnel-it’s dark, and smokey, and loud, and you just know you are going to have a fantastic time!
The seventeen cuts on the CD mostly continue the voyage you have embarked on. “What Shall We Do With A Drunken Sailor,” a rowdy rendition of an old time favorite, and later, with “Have Some Whiskey,” you’ll find yourself getting into the spirit as you metaphorically sit on deck with your grog, singing along. The theme carries through with the traditional sound of “Champion of the Seas” and titles like “Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea”, “Aye, Aye, Captain” and “White Whale” and ending, appropriately with “Coming Home.” My favorite of these is “The Last Voyage of the Great Micheal,” a driving instrumental with pipes and guitar blazing in tandem.
Oh-and one departure from the “ship” that is sure to please is called “Celtica Goes To Hollywood” and is five minutes or so of the Celtica take on themes from Star Wars, Lord of the Rings, Titanic, Last of the Mohicans, Braveheart, and of course, Pirates of the Carribbean.

The music is rock, and the lead instrument is bagpipe. Specifically Great Highland Bagpipe, a powerful and exciting sound combined with guitar and bass and the brilliant Lukas Rausch on drums. The members of this group come from all around the globe-from California and Arizona to Scotland and Austria. Duncan Knight of Scotland, who plays Great Highland Bagpipe, has played with the 1st Battalion Royal Scots and the Royal Scots Borderers, and has played the pipes since the age of ten. Gwendolyn Rowe from Mendocino, California, who also plays bagpipe, breeds and trains Scottish Highland ponies and owns a watertower in Scotland. The bass player, Harry Weinkum is from Phoenix, Arizona, and the remaining three members, Josy Svajda on keyboards and percussion, Gajus Stappen on guitar, and Lukas Rausch on drums, are from Austria. It’s an eclectic group, and I wish I could see their live show, which includes flame throwing and fire juggling! They just completed their USA Spring Tour, however, and are currently touring Europe. They will be back in July, however, and visiting the Highland Games in Linville, North Carolina. Slightly closer to home, but only slightly, will be June 29th, when they will be in Anchorage for the Alaska Highland Games.

Gajus Stappen (Vienna, Austria), electric Guitar & Percussion
Gwendolen Rowe (Mendocino, CA/USA), Great Highland Bagpipe
Duncan Knight (Edinburgh, Scotland), Great Highland Bagpipe
Harry Weinkum (Phoenix, AZ/USA), Bass & Percussion
Lukas Rausch (Scheibbs, Austria), Drums
Josy Svajda (Saalfelden, Austria), Fire, Vocals, Keyboard & Percussion

Original review: http://67music.net/reviews/celtica-pipes-rock/

 

Rising -Celtica Pipes Rock/Acess 2 Music

5. November 2012

Donner grollte über den Highland Games, Blitze erhellten das Gelände und Celtica Pipes Rock stimmten “We will rock you” auf ihren Bagpipes an. Die

read more
Klänge, die mich schon im Radio immer erfreuten, brachten die tapfere Meute, die dem Regen trotzte, zum Johlen. Und jetzt, wo ich die CD im Player habe, möchte ich am liebsten die Zeit zurück drehen und die Gummistiefel einpacken. Denn Celtica Pipes Rock machen ihrem Namen alle Ehre, diese Pipes rocken.

Celtica bieten einen guten Einstieg in die Musik mit Bagpipes. Denn obwohl natürlich Bagpipes im Vordergrund stehen, kommen auch andere Instrumente nicht zu kurz, so allen voran die Gitarre und Drums. Das macht “Rising” auf jeden Fall massentauglich, was sie auch gleich bei mehreren Auftritten vor begeisterten Mengen bewiesen.

Auf ihrer Debut CD finden sich die wichtigsten Rock Klassiker mit einem gut verträglichen Anteil an Dudelsack. Besonders die Medleys verdienen Erwähnung, sie sind in sich stimmig und die fließenden Übergänge machen es leicht, mit der CD durchzufeiern. Ich war positiv überrascht, “Ode to Joy zu” hören. Aber auch Pipi Langstrumpf hat es aufs Album geschafft. Damit unterscheiden sie sich deutlich von den Red Hot Chilli Pipers, die sich auf große Rock und Pop-Klassiker beschränken. Ein Schritt der sich lohnt, denn so kann selbst der größte Kulturbanause ein Liedchen zum Mitpfeifen auf dieser grandiosen CD finden.

Weitere Infos zur Band inklusive Auftritten findet ihr auf http://www.celticarocks.com//dt/home
By Floree – October 24, 2011, Posted in: Plattenladen

http://wp.access2music.de/2011/10/celtica-pipes-rock-rising/

 

Le Canard Folk/ BE, Nov 2012

21. October 2012

L’Autre Folk/ metal, pagan, médiéval, folk-rock, …
Celtica Pipes Rock: Oceans of Fire

Le titre est explicite : voicidu folk-rock puissant où la guitare électrique, la basse et la batterie encadrent
fermement les cornemuses écossaises, aussi impériales soient-elles. La section rythmique oeuvre avec

read more
intelligence, variant les effets et se ménageant des silences. On se laisse facilement emporter par les flots
dans ce voyage bien construit, avec des successions de titres et d’ambiances qui font sens. Une part de rêve,
comme il se doit, avec “Loch Lomond”, l’inévitable “Amazing Grace” et le final “Coming Home”. Et une
chouette chanson de pub “Have some whisky”. Avec les 6 musiciens Duncan Knight (Highland bagpipe, whistle,
chant), Gwendolen Rowen (Highland bagpipe, chant), Gajus Stappen (guitares, percussions, chant,
composition), Harald Weinkum (basse, claviers, percussions, chant), Josy Svajda (chant, claviers, percussions) et
Lukas Rausch (batterie), le Celtica va même jusqu’à Hollywood!

Marc Bauduin, Le Canard Folk – Nov 2012
www.canardfolk.be

 

Celtic Rock Music/ celtic rock & punk fanzine and internet radiostation

15. October 2012

Celtica Pipes Rock, so nennen sich die Damen und Herren aus Österreich, Schottland und Amerika deren Album ich euch heute ans Herz legen möchte. Als Celtic Rock beschreibt die Band selbst ihren eingeschlagenen Stil. Ich persönlich höre da noch

read more
eine Prise Celtic Metall raus.

Vergleiche möchte ich mit den schottischen Red Hot Chilli Pipers oder den ebenfalls aus Österreich stammenden Powerpipes ziehen. Bekannte und geliebte Melodien sowie eigene Kreationen verpackt in ein Bagpipe-Gewand gemischt mit harten Gitarrenriffs. Bei dieser Band auch hin und wieder mit Gesang welcher sehr gut hinein passt.

Auch live scheint diese Band äußerst sehenswert zu sein, den Eindruck vermitteln jedenfalls die Livevideos die man sich auf der Webseite ansehen kann. Hier der Link dazu: www.celticarocks.com Sollten die Herrschaften mal in meiner Gegend sein, werde ich dem ganz sicher beiwohnen und bei nem schönen Bier den fantastischen Klängen lauschen.

Oceans of Fire ist das nunmehr 2. Album der Band. Ich für meinen Teil werd mir jetzt auch noch das 1. Album welches den Namen Rising trägt besorgen, denn wenn ich etwas an diesen ganzen coolen Celtic-Rock, Punk oder Metallbands schätze, sind das die Bagpipes und von denen gibts hier wirklich genug.

Als Anspieltipps lege ich euch “Cape Horn” und “What shall we do with the drunken sailor” ans Herz. Zwei schöne Tracks aus dem Ocean of Fire welcher eigentlich ausschließlich aus guten bis sehr guten Tracks gefüllt wurde.

Fazit: Wer auf Die Red Hot Chilli Pipers oder die Powerpipes steht, kommt an dieser Band nicht vorbei.

http://www.celtic-rock.de/2012/09/celtica-pipes-rock-oceans-of-fire-2012/

 

Folk Metal/NL

Celtica – ‘Oceans of Fire’ (2012)
14 oktober 2012 by Michel
Celtica has released two album until now. Oceans of Fire was their last one and it was released in early 2012.
Their music is not real folk metal, maybe the best desciption is Rock and Heavy Metal with bagpipes.

read more
But not the kind bands like Skiltron play. And this is due to the way they play this. There are no vocals, except for a few songs like ‘Have some Whisky!’ and ‘Aye, Aye, Capt’n’. Where there’s normally an emphasis on the vocals, in Celtica the bagpipes take over this role.
On Oceans of Fire there are a lot of very nice songs. Some are written by themselves, but there are also covers like ‘What shall we do with the Drunken Sailor’ and ‘Loch Lomond’. And very great there is also some humour on this album! And you don’t need any lyrics for that. Listen to ‘Celtica goes to Hollywood’ and you’ll get on an amazing trip through a number of nice movies.
When I heard them the first time, I was quite convinced we dealt with an American band here. But it appears the band is half Austrian and has only two American members. The music is nicely composed, but a little bit smooth, on the other hand all is done with great skill by these fine musicians.
But there’s also something which bothers me. Every time I put this album on I’ll miss the vocals after a few songs. The tracks with vocals aren’t the nicest songs on the album, so they don’t make up for this.
Is this a bad thing? Some will say Yes, but I doubt that. Who’s listening to a complete album these days. Most of the day I’m listening to my musicplayer playing random songs from a playlist. And when I do this I like every Celtica songs my player brings to me. So I wouldn’t want to miss this album, I like it a lot. It’s a very unique approach and they will do a great job at all kind of festivals with this music.

http://www.folk-metal.nl/2012/10/celtica-oceans-of-fire-2012/

 

Huscarl.at (Simone Huber) May 16th 2012

29. May 2012

Huscarl.at (Simone Huber) 16.05.2012
Aye, Aye, Captain! – Celtica lässt die Leinen los!

read more
Rechtzeitig vor dem Konzert zur CD-Release am Donnerstag, den 31.05.2012, erreichte Huscarl eine der ersten Exemplare des neuen Albums “Oceans of Fire” von Celtica Pipes Rock. Eine prompte Rezension, noch vor dem Konzert, ist in diesem Fall das Ergebnis erwartungsvoller Spannung und unbändiger Neugierde unserer Redakteurin.
Ungeduldig wurde die CD aus dem gut gepolsterten Kuvert genommen, nur um festzustellen: Es ist noch nicht fertig ausgepackt! Also erstmal den kleinen Zipfel suchen, mit dem das brandneue Album “Oceans of Fire” auch aus der Zellophanhülle befreit und endlich genauer in Augenschein genommen werden kann.

Cover & Booklet
Schon beim Anblick des CD-Covers schaltet das Kopfkino der Rezensentin auf Play:
Von starken Windböen gepeitschte Segel, ein hoher Zweimaster mit Schottenkaro-Flagge tanzt auf den gischtschäumenden Wellen des leuchtenden Flammenmeeres, der Donner ist ohrenbetäubend. Die Crew der Celtica bewahrt mühevoll die Ruhe. Sie wissen – ein Fehlgriff und ihr nasses Grab wartet schon auf sie. Da fährt ein leuchtender Blitz aus dem sturmverhangenen, bedrohlich dunklen Himmel herab – das Meer brennt…

Einfach herrlich! Können Booklet und CD die – durch das äußerst wirkungsvoll in Szene gesetzte, fantasiebeflügelnde Cover – hochgeschraubten Erwartungen erfüllen? Vielleicht sogar übertreffen? Oder kommt der eiskalte Griff der Realität, um den Zuhörer enttäuscht wieder auf den Boden der Tatsachen zurückzuholen?

Die Setlist auf der Rückseite des Covers verrät mehr:
Mit insgesamt 17 Songs, einer Gesamtlaufzeit von knapp über einer Stunde und ein paar Gastmusikern wartet die sechsköpfige Pipe-Rock-Band aus drei verschiedenen Nationen ihren Fans und denen, die es noch werden wollen, ihr neues Album “Oceans of Fire” auf. Bis auf sechs Nummern wurden alle Songs von Mitglied und Produzent Gajus Stappen selbst geschrieben.

Das Album
Virtuoses Spiel auf den Sackpfeifen versus fetzigen Gitarrenriffs, das ganze gepaart mit heißen Schlagzeugrhythmen, die dem Zuhörer scheinbar direkt über das Ohr in den gesamten Körper eindringen und dazu zwingen, sich im Takt zu bewegen und einfach gut drauf zu sein. Von epischen Melodien über Gute-Laune-Lieder und fetzige Rocksongs bietet Celtica mit ihrem zweiten Album alles, was das Herz begehrt. Eines der vielen Highlits auf der CD ist das Madley “Celtica goes to Hollywood”: Titanic, Herr der Ringe, der letzte Mohikaner, Braveheart, Krieg der Sterne und Fluch der Karibik lassen grüßen! “Amazing Grace” geht direkt unter die Haut. Und auch die Stimmen kommen auf dem powervollen Album nicht zu kurz und laden zum Mitsingen ein.

Persönlicher Fazit der Rezensentin
Ein absolutes “Muss” für Freunde des Dudelsacks, die ebensogern Folk als auch Rock hören! Ich persönlich glaube, dass auch Leute, die nicht auf dieser Art Musikwelle surfen, garantiert auf ihre Kosten kommen werden und nicht anders können, als mitzuspringen und mitzusingen! Das komplette Album strotzt nur so vor guter Laune und purer Stimmung!
Um abschließend noch von der Rückseite des Albums zu zitieren:

“Across oceans of fire and deep waters so blue – behind the horizon all dreams will come true…”

 

Fiona Elcoat, Generate Radio, UK, May 22nd 2012

“The album is extremely brilliant!!!”
Fiona Elcoat, Generate Radio, UK